EUROBABEL strasbourg

The Permanent Secretary

Press release Strasbourg, 19 November 2014

Laureate 2014 EUROPEAN PRIZE FOR LITERATURE

The European Prize for Literature 2014 is awarded to the Norwegian author JON FOSSE, born in 1959 in Haugesund, Norway, for the totality of his work as a dramatist, a novelist, a poet and a writer of essays, because of his strong, demanding and innovative writing in any literary genre.

Placed under the patronage of Mr. Thorbjørn Jagland, Secretary General of the Council of Europe and sponsored by the City of Strasbourg, the European Prize for Literature was awarded last year to Erri de Luca (Italy).

The award ceremony will take place in Strasbourg's City Hall.

The Council of Europe is an international organisation promoting co-operation between all countries of Europe, especially in the areas of human rights, democratic governance and cultural development. The seat of the Council of Europe is in Strasbourg, France, with English and French as its two official languages. It now has 47 member states, with 820 million citizens.

The City of Strasbourg is the seat of numerous international institutions, such as the Council of Europe, the European Court of Human Rights, the European Parliament and the European cultural TV channel ARTE. Strasbourg has one of the most prestigious universities in Europe. The whole of its city centre was classified as a World Heritage site by UNESCO.

The European Prize for Literature is awarded to an author for his or her entire work, insofar as it represents the cultural dimensions of Europe. The works distinguished so far highlight the richness of current European literature. It is by giving a face to each culture of Europe that their people will be able to learn how to appreciate and understand each other.

The European Prize for Literature is awarded by Eurobabel Jury, Strasbourg, France. Jon Fosse is the 10th Laureate since the creation of the Prize in 2005. Previous recipients of the European Prize for Literature are: 2005, ANTONIO GAMONEDA (Spain) • 2006, BO CARPELAN (Finland) • 2007, TADEUSZ RÓŻEWICZ (Poland) • 2008, TANKRED DORST (Germany) • 2009, KIKI DIMOULA (Greece) • 2010, TONY HARRISON (Great Britain) • 2011, DRAGO JANČAR (Slovenia) • 2012, VLADIMIR MAKANINE (Russia) • 2013, ERRI DE LUCA (Italy).

Contact : contact@eurobabel.net Official Site : http://www.eurobabel.net/