French Literature Series
Robert Pinget
Preface by John Updike

Trio marks the first time these three shorter Pinget works are collected in a single volume. From the sublime surrealism of Between Fantoine and Agapa, through the Faulknerian take on rural life in That Voice, to the musical rhythm and flow of Passacaglia, this collection charts the varied career of one of the French New Novel’s true luminaries.

The space between the fictional towns of Fantoine and Agapa is akin to Faulkner’s Yoknapatawpha County: an area where provincialism is neither romanticized nor parodied; where intrigue—often violent intrigue—confronts the bucolic ideal held both by insiders and outsiders; and where reality is shaped not by events, but by talk and gossip, by insinuation and conjecture.

Written over the course of his career, these three novels are by turns hilarious and dark, surreal and painstakingly accurate; together they demonstrate the consistent quality of Pinget’s versatility.

List price: $13.50
Price: $10.80
You save: $2.70
Preface by John Updike
Publication: French Literature Series
Format: Paperback / softback
Number of pages: 206
ISBN-13: 9781564784087
GTIN13: 9781564784087
Publication date: 11/1/2005
Language: eng
List price: $13.50